An Aside: Bernadette Mayer

I’ve had the fortune to spend significant quality time with one of the most underrated American poets, Bernadette Mayer.

She, her partner poet Phil Good, and I traveled around the Czech Republic together when we, by happy accident, ended up in Prague at the same time.

When we were in Plsen (because Bernie wanted a tour of the brewery), I asked her what she was working on.

“I’m pre-writing,” she said.

“Pre-writing for what?” I asked.

“Any time I’m not writing it’s pre-writing.”

Which is one of the best things about being a writer. Everything in your life is research.

~ ~ ~

For more extensive info on Bernie, go HERE
Try one of her “82 Writing Experiments

1 Comment

Filed under poetry, random poop, writing exercises

One response to “An Aside: Bernadette Mayer

  1. Pingback: Karlstejn « The Accidental Novelist (Writes Again)

From my brain to yours

