56 Flavours:Chapter 5

Historical Perspective

When I was your age we didn’t have none of them zoop-trams, we drove ourselves around in automobiles. None of this zipping across town faster than you can think. And no e-mitters coming outta our ears with everything under the sun just as you ask for it, we hadda use e-mail and we listened to iPods that hung around our necks and through headphones attached to our computers. Now you got all this surround-o-experience, it’s just spooky all them images like ghosts dancing around the room. Gives me nightmares. Course I never had bad dreams when I was a kid cuz our dog slept with me every night. Dogs was animals that lived in our homes with us, dogs and cats and fish and birds, pets we called them. Now we gotta sleep in them controlled baric chambers… when I was a kid we could sleep outside if we felt like it, in the real air. And water flowed outta our faucets, like rainstorms, like rivers, like tears.

2 Comments

Filed under 56 Flavours, flash fiction

2 responses to “56 Flavours:Chapter 5

  1. Beautiful, perfect control over the voice and the ending slides so beautifully into poetry. Magical time travel prose poem with voices, couldn’t ask for more.

  2. Hi Paul,

    Glad you liked it. I wasn’t originally going to put it into 56 Flavours because it’s just
    a different voice and style for me.

    but hey, thanks!

From my brain to yours